Taro root with Portuguese Chorizo sausage

DSCN4765

Hello friends! I haven’t blogged in a long time but I’m back for some wonderful readers who requested more recipes.

Today’s recipe features Goa! Goa is an absolutely amazing place, not just for the beaches and other tourist attractions but the wonderful cuisine and the local produce. I visited the famous Mapusa Market with my husband and came back with bags filled with Goan produce and my heart filled with joy.

IMG-20151115-WA0005

IMG-20151115-WA0007

I got fresh produce of Taro root and Portuguese Chorizo sausage. I thought of using the Taro for a cake but as my last few posts were all about baking, I decided to mix it up and go savory. Hope you enjoy it!

Ingredients

  • Taro root(known as malanga coco, arbi) 1 & 1/4 kgDSCN4754
  • Chorizo sausage 12-15 pcs
  • Onion 1cup (sliced)
  • Ginger 1 tsp
  • Garlic 1 tsp
  • Turmeric powder 1/2 tsp
  • Red chili powder 1 & 1/2 tsp (or as preference)
  • Coriander powder 1tbl spn
  • Cumin powder 1 tsp
  • Garam masala powder 1/2 tsp
  • White vinegar 2 tbl spn
  • Baking soda 2 tsp
  • Curd 250 gms (or todi vinegar  – 2tbl spn)
  • Salt to taste
  • Mustard oil for deep frying roots +3 tbl spn

Method

Peel and cut the taro root in 2″  pieces, lengthwise slices. Prick ,wash and rub white vinegar and keep in refrigerator over night.

DSCN4751

In a vessel add  enough water, kosher salt (sea salt) , baking soda and set to boil by adding the roots.

DSCN4753

As they are par boiled, drain and add turmeric powder. Deep fry in oil and keep aside.

In a separate pan, heat 3tbl spn of oil and fry sliced onion till golden brown. Add curd or todi vinegar, red chili, coriander, cumin, garam masala powder, 1/4 cup of water and the chorizo sausages. Fry till you observe oil on the surface.

Now add a cup of water and as it starts boiling, add the fried taro roots to it. Slow cook till the water dries up completely.

Serve with rice, naan or simple roti.

DSCN4755

Tips:

  • You can take the skins of the sausages off as well if you’d like.
  • Sometimes eating or even handling taro roots can cause unpleasant itching in mouth or hands. So it’s always better if you wear kitchen gloves. Visit this page for more tips to avoid itching. By the way, vinegar, baking soda, salt- all are used to reduce the chance of itching only.

Hope you enjoy this recipe. The taste is very unique and not the way we usually eat our sausages.  Definitely worth a try!

Trying out recipes from around the world is always a great experience and I have never been disappointed. I’ll be back with more, till then, happy cooking 🙂

 

 

10 comments

  1. Hi Tanushree,
    I met you in the Community Pool. You indicated you were a new blogger. I help new bloggers at my site. I brought you the link to my About page, so you can see what my blog can do for you.
    http://wp.me/P6x6vQ-89
    I even offer three free incentives for subscribing.
    You asked how Instagram gets traffic to your blog. I have published several articles on that very topic.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

