Two Faced Deviled Eggs (Dim’er Devil)

DSCN3096

Hello everyone! I haven’t written in long due to technical difficulties but here I am! I have missed the blogosphere greatly and now that I’m back I thought I would start things off with something closer to home- my birthplace and street food hub- Kolkata . Calcutta or Kolkata is famous for the wide variety of insanely delicious street food available and it’s not easy to narrow the list down.
So, here I’m trying to present few (my favorites of course) for you. Let’s kickstart with something all my readers can relate to- Dim’er Devil, a kind of deviled eggs  but very different from the usual, you’ll find how as you read the recipe.

Ingredients

  • Hard boiled egg 4 (halved vertically)
  • Minced chicken 250gms (boiled)
  • Potato 2 medium (boiled,mashed)
  • Onion 1(chopped)
  • Green chili 2(chopped)
  • Ginger garlic paste 1 tsp
  • Turmeric powder 1/2 tsp
  • Chili powder 1/2 tsp
  • Coriander leaves 2tbl spn(chopped)
  • Garam masala powder 1/2 tsp
  • Salt to taste
  • Oil to deep fry+ 2tbl spn
  • Bread crumb 2 cups
  • Raw egg 2 (beaten)

Method

In a heated wok add 2 tbl spn oil, chopped green chili, onion and seasoning. Fry till onion is translucent.

Add ginger garlic paste and turmeric powder and fry for a minute. Now add boiled minced chicken, mashed potato, chopped  tomato, chili powder and mix well. Fry till golden.

Mix garam masala powder and chopped coriander into the chicken mixture and keep aside to cool.

As the chicken mixture is ready, make small balls out of it, put each ball on each egg half and use your hands to give it the shape of a full oval egg.

DSCN3073

Whip an egg and dip your deviled egg in it.

DSCN3076

Now roll it in bread crumb so the egg is covered with bread crumbs all around.

DSCN3078

Once this is done, repeat the step as one bread crumb layer is not enough.

DSCN3079
DSCN3081

Now deep fry them over high heat.
Your two faced devil is all good to go!

DSCN3102

Serve with ‘aam kashundi’ (mustard sauce) or any sauce of your choice. You can check out my pomegranate walnut dip and mango dip recipe for more ideas.

DSCN3101

As you start eating, every bite gives a different taste and is full of surprises. I hope you enjoy this dish as much as I do.

I’ll try to upload more recipes soon but till then you can also keep in touch with me on Instagram. Come say hello at tanushrees_delicacies and leave the name of your Instagram account in the comment box so I can follow you back. I’m also trying to keep in touch with all of you through Pinterest and Twitter but it’ll take some time for me to figure it out ! Any help will be much appreciated!!Twitter's Smiling Face With Open Mouth and Tightly-Closed Eyes

Hope you all have a great time and happy cooking 🙂

10 comments

Leave a Reply

